Tech Tips - HDR Explained

What is HDR 

HDR stands for High Dynamic Range, in simple terms it refers to the contrast or colour range between the lightest and darkest tones in an image.  

Is it the same as 4K? 

HDR is a separate standard but as it has been released recently it is linked with 4K Devices such as TV’s, Blu Ray players and games consoles. It is also the standard used by providers such as Netflix, SKY and Virgin to broadcast 4K content. 

4K refers to specific resolution while HDR is more concerned with colour reproduction and contrast. 

The result has more visual impact than 4K when watching TV, Blu Rays or gaming. 

What do I need? 

Your TV, Set Top boxes, Blu Ray players and consoles will all have to support HDR. 

High speed HDMI cables will also be required. Any device, such as extenders, between your source and TV/Monitor also have to support the format. 

Is there more than one format? 

Confused? Yes, there are four different varieties of HDR: HDR10, HDR10+, HLG, Dolby Vision.  

HDR10 is the original and currently most common form of HDR. These formats are generally related to TV or Monitor manufacturers such as Samsung, who have developed their own version HDR10+, or LG. All new LG TV’s support Dolby Vision 

Thankfully more than one format can coexist. Amazon Prime Video, Netflix, Apple and Disney+ offer both HDR and Dolby Vision. 

HLG is an HDR format developed jointly by the BBC and NHK (Japanese Broadcaster) HDR10 TV’s will be compatible with this format. 

What about Gaming? 

HDR gaming is supported on PlayStation 4, Slim and Pro, as well as Xbox One S and One X 

The next generation of X box and the PS5 will both support the format. Most AAA game titles being released on PC also commonly support HDR10 and Dolby Vision.